Review of The Throwaway Piece

July 22, 2010 at 7:45 pm | Posted in Book Reviews | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

The Throwaway Piece

by Jo Ann Yolanda Hernandez

If you liked the story Precious,

you will love The Throwaway Piece!

As a teenager I felt as though I wasn’t heard, I didn’t have a voice, and no one cared for my opinions.  When Jewel, the teenage character of The Throwaway Piece, is shuttled from one foster home to another, I could relate to her feeling of being invisible.   I think this book is a great read for all teenagers.  It is a story they will find they can relate to in many ways.  The relationships Jewel has with her social worker, her teachers, her peers, and her foster families throughout the story are rich and complex.

I can see this book as a selected reading piece for high school and college literature classes.  Ms. Hernandez is a talented writer and I look forward to her next young adult novel!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you Ramona for a thoughtful review. I appreciate the time you took to read the book and post this. Thank you for everything, Jo Ann Hernandez

  2. I read this book and it means so much to me that someone takes time to visit the point of life that no one cares to take time to look into. I cried at some points in this book because i have been in some of her positions and i can not thank Jo Ann enough for opening my eyes to show me im not the only who has been in these situations.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

